jump to navigation

Just Give Us the Trophy Now March 16, 2010

Posted by rhenary in Uncategorized.
trackback

It’s the most wonderful time of the year … after the NFL season at least. March Madness is here and I’m pumped. I’ll be off this Friday to watch games and cheer for the underdogs (even if they blow up my brackets.) I just play them for fun of course.

This is also time when we can start talking NFL again (come on, it’s been over a month.) The discussions have already begun on the NFL draft being held in April, which means all teams are officially 0-0 again. Despite the alleged transgressions of our star QB, Mr. Roethlisberger, I think the Steelers are already a favorite to win it all this season. (Before I go any further, if you read my “About” section, you know that I refer to “we” when referring to the team, so deal with it.) Anyway, Larry Foote and Randle El both re-signed for three years, and we also picked up a good possession receiver in Arnaz Battle, not to mention some much-needed help in the secondary with Will Allen.

Meanwhile, our friends in Cleveland have ended their Brady vs. Anderson controversy by chucking both of them out the window and handing the keys to a guy who is coming off the worst year of his career. Don’t get me wrong, I actually like Jake Delhomme, but come on. This is the answer that Holmgren came up with? I do wish both of them well as a competitive Browns team is more fun than what we’ve seen since they’ve come back.  The Browns’ victory over an underachieving Steelers team a few months back did breathe some life back into this rivalry, but I think it was a fluke. (If you are one of those delusional Browns fans who think you are on the way to the Lombardi, drop me a comment.)

So I’m going on record tonight. The Steelers will go 12-4  next year and will return to the Super Bowl if Roethlisberger is available, which I think he will be. Even if he isn’t, Dennis Dixon or a veteran QB could get us into the playoffs. Mark it down, put money on it or put it in the bank, whatever you’d like. Of course I predicted 12-4 last season too, but who’s counting? 

That’s it for tonight NFL fans. I’m off to watch the NFL Network. These “NFL’s Greatest Games” are awesome. I watched Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith and the Cowboys versus Steve Young, Jerry Rice and the 49ers last week. John Madden and Pat Summerall had the call. It was great. And this “Total Access” show is simply awesome for NFL junkie like me.  Thank you DirectTV for delivering more joy to my TV watching experience. 

Talk to you all later …

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment